my citizenship

To be honest I have become overwhelmed by the expectations as I sit and read through each syllabus.  When I find that I have been asked to complete an assignment that requires more time of my schedule, I ask where? where do I find more time.

I am travelling for classes, I have three kids, a husband, I teach music lessons (in order to bring home some sort of an income) All of these things take TIME!!

So how can I do any of these things well if I can’t put in the time to them?  This is my process as I am tring to think of a way to become an active individual in some sort of a social awareness that connects to treaty, curriculum, family, well being, and I can do well to recieve a passing mark.

So I sat down and wrote down the things I am not willing to give up to make this action happen.  I am NOT willing to give up more time with my children:

cropped-girls.jpg

So the girls and I talked and we decided that one thing we have learned from treaty education and learning about the culture and tradition of the First Nations Peoples, is that they hold their elders as important individuals of society that impart wisdom, knowledge and they need to be cared for.

Our white society does not hold the same value towards elders and their important role of our well being.  So what does this mean and what can we do?

We are going to make a commitment to a few of the elders in our community maybe even one, named Hank Nickel.  He has been on my heart as he is quite elderly, and unable to move around.  I thought it would be wonderful to meet with him once a week and exchange my ability to help somewhere and ask if he would sit for tea and share his stories of life.

This would connect to the curriculum when exploring interactions and interdependence of nations, or even dynamic relationships.  Juxtapose different communities, cultures, races, and their values and traditions.  What makes a society and where that society places their value within the people.  Acutal curriculum that I could connect to are: PA6.3 Explore examples and explain how people, such as ethnic minority groups, the disabled, youth, and the elderly, may be affected by injustice or abuses of power as well as RW6.2 Contribute to initiating and guiding change in local and global communities regarding environmental, social, and economic sustainability.

Sunday will be our day to set up times to go to tea and do something for an elder of our community.

Leave a Reply

